This Is Awesome! Conan the Barbarian: The Official Motion Picture Adaptation

So I’ve been waiting for this for a while and even wondered if it really were true, that Titan Books would re-release L. Sprague De Camp and Lin Carters novelization of the movie we all love: Conan the Barbarian.
But today we stand here and I got this beauty in the mail, and I simply can’t wait to start reading this!

As I was born in 1990 it’s obvious that I missed out on the original book when it was released, and living in Sweden it has always been a fight to find Conan books in good shape and for a reasonable price, so I’ve actually NEVER read anything that L. Sprague De Camp or Lin Carter has written in relation to Conan. I just recently picked up the omnibus Sagas of Conan who collects some of the books and stories by these two plus Björn Nyberg and that’s basically the only way for me to be able to read any of these authors work on Conan. Unless I want to spend sometimes ridiculous prices on old, dirty and moldy vintage books and having to import them and get an infection in my hands in the process. So the fact that Titan Books released this book is so freaking amazing and cool in my opinion, and I hope this is the beginning of them reprinting other Conan pastiches that really is in need of re-releases. We know for a fact as of now that one more will be re-released along with yet another which was never released back when it was written.

So Titan Books if you are reading this, well done and please continue to release these old Conan books and do them justice!

About this story, De Camp and Carters writing I can’t say anything since I haven’t started reading yet, but I am reading both Conan the Destroyer by Robert Jordan and the 2011 novelization (which I will comment on later on) so it’s going to be really interesting to compare and see which ones stays the most true to their movie counterpart.

One weird thing is that my copy looks a bit harsh and beaten up? I’m not sure if this is just the design but it’s an odd one if that’s the case. If anyone knows or have their own copy looking like this, then please let me know!

My partner is out of town and I’ve gotten the new Cirith Ungol album – and now this new (old) Conan book in my hands, well it’s safe to say that my weekend is saved 🙂

Well done Titan Books, but please don’t stop! Keep up the great work!

2 thoughts on “This Is Awesome! Conan the Barbarian: The Official Motion Picture Adaptation

  1. Awesome! I picked up my copy of this one on Wednesday and much like you I cannot wait to get into it! I just have one pesky book I started that I have to finish first….

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment